top of page

Welcome New Member Santa Cruz Community Credit Union

Santa Cruz Community Credit Union (SCCCU) is a not-for-profit financial cooperative that promotes economic justice. They are local, independent, and member-owned.

SCCCU officially opened its first branch in Downtown Santa Cruz on August 16, 1977. What began as a way to provide credit and financial services to low- and moderate-income residents of Santa Cruz County has expanded into a $189 million financial cooperative with approximately 15,000 members. SCCCU currently has three branches – Santa Cruz, Soquel, and Watsonville – and has been certified as a low-income and Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI) for over 26 years. In fact, SCCCU was one of the first credit unions in the nation to become a CDFI and is well-known nationwide.

“The founders of the Credit Union crafted a guiding principle, which is to improve the quality of life for everyone in our community, especially those without a voice. We still live by this principle every day,” explained Beth Carr, President/CEO of SCCCU. “We believe in empowering those who the status quo has marginalized. That is the lens we use before we do anything at the Credit Union.”

And together with the community, SCCCU has attained remarkable achievements by maintaining a steadfast commitment to its mission to promote economic justice for all. With over 55 employees, the Credit Union provides much-needed affordable financial services to Santa Cruz County and North Monterey County.

Learn more at


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page